The Voice – much like the Big Picture approach to learning

I watched the first episode the other day of what I bet will be the next BIG THING for talent shows – The Voice.

As one critic put it: “Essentially The Voice takes everything you knew about the tired reality format (Yes American Idol, I am looking at you) and turns it on its head and the result is absolutely entertaining.” Read it all here.

I would absolutely agree. I liked the humour, the passion, the talent and the human story.

I especially liked the premise of the show and how it followed similar principles as the Big Picture program which I use to work with young people and help them to get back into learning and find a career. The similarities included:

  • People following their passion
  • Working with coaches who are like mentors
  • Coaches work with singers in small groups of 8
  • The work with mentors is like an internship
I wonder which network will pick this up in Australia. My bet is the Ten Network.
One thought on “The Voice – much like the Big Picture approach to learning

Leave a Reply

