One of my passions – Collingwood, Go Pies!

Please indulge me a little while I express a bit of passion for my favourite sport and my favourite team – The Collingwood Magpies who play Aussie Rules football.

I have followed them all my life, so did my dad and his dad before him.

As a young fellow I was a team mascot for my home town football team, the Maryborough Magpies who had a close link to Collingwood.

Here I am as mascot in the team that won the grand final that year.

I love Aussie Rules football and enjoy watching many teams play but I hold my greatest enthusiasm for watching Collingwood.

Collingwood have had a great deal of success winning premierships, not so much recently, but especially in the old days, with 4 in a row from 1927-1930. This I believe made them both much hated and much loved as the Aussie likes to knock down the tall poppy (one who is successful).

Collingwood, the club and its supporters are often the brunt of much derision and put down jokes. Some of which are very funny mind you!

Q. Two Collingwood supporters jump off a cliff. Who wins
A. Society.

Q. If you are driving and you see a Collingwood supporter on a bike, why should you try not to hit him?
A. It might be your bike.

Q. Two Collingwood supporters in a car without any music – who is driving?
A. The policeman!

That’s enough! There are heaps more.

Collingwood finished on top of the ladder and are in the finals this year.

They have won their first finals game and have a very good chance of winning the big one – The Grand Final. They have not won a grand final since 1990.

Also, their best player this year, Dane Swan, is favourite to win the Brownlow Medal which is the AFL’s (Australian Football League’s) best play award.

And I will finish with a wonderful YouTube video of one of my most favourite Collingwood players who played from 1979 – 1993. He was known as the Macedonian Marvel and Mr Magic.

Watch and see why….GO PIES!

One thought on “One of my passions – Collingwood, Go Pies!

Leave a Reply

