Going outside to learn inside (the classroom)

I have noticed that the more I have my students going to Shadow Days (just like work experience) and Learning Through Internship (2 days a week with a focus project) they are becoming much more settled in class and keen to work. I am steadily seeing more ideas, initiative and even a willingness to come with me when I am doing public speaking.

So far this year these are adult world immersion opportunities understaken by my students:

  • Miss MW – Travel Agent
  • Miss BC – Panel Beating
  • Mr AS – TAFE plumbing
  • Mr TM – Church
  • Miss BR – Restaurant
  • Miss BR – Painting Service
  • Miss BR – Child Care
  • Mr ST – Bricklaying

Students are now working towards their first exhibitions in a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

